Cofrac - Comité français d'accréditation
Cofrac, le portail de l'accréditation

Laboratories (testing, calibration)

Laboratories (testing, calibration)

News on the Laboratories Section

Click here to consult the latest news on the Laboratories Section.

Mission and organisation of the Laboratories Section

The mission of Cofrac's Laboratories Section is the accreditation of:

  • Testing and calibration laboratories;
  • Organisers of interlaboratory comparisons;
  • Bodies carrying out the verification of regulated measuring instruments.

The Laboratories Section is organised into four competence poles, each of these poles corresponding to major sectors of activity: Biology-Biochemistry, Chemistry-Environment, Mechanical-Thermal, and Physics-Electricity.

Associated with these four poles are five technical accreditation commissions (TAC): Biology–Agri-food, Chemistry-Environment, Mechanical-Thermal, Building-Civil Engineering and Electricity-Radiation-Information Technology.

Accreditation of testing and calibration laboratories

Accreditation certifies the technical competence of testing and calibration laboratories to perform specific tasks.

In terms of testing, accreditation guarantees that the results are obtained according to valid methods and procedures that comply with precise standards. This may concern laboratories performing analyses on chemical agents in water or air, establishing nutritional profiles and seeking contaminants in foodstuffs, measuring electromagnetic fields in situ, mechanical tests on metals, etc.

In terms of calibration, accreditation recognises the aptitude of a laboratory to carry out calibrations and metrological verifications in a defined domain and with specified uncertainties. The Cofrac label on the calibration certificate guarantees the traceability of measurements in the International System of Units (SI).

The Cofrac document, LAB INF 99, presents the principal fields of testing and calibration open to accreditation by the Laboratories Section (list not exhaustive).

Scope of accreditation

The accreditation of laboratories is done according to a well defined perimeter, called scope or technical annex, which is the formal and precise statement of the activities for which the laboratory is accredited.

There are several types of scope of accreditation, which increase in flexibility, suitable for the needs of laboratories:

  • Standard, type A1 scope (fixed), for which the laboratory cannot make any modifications to its scope without prior evaluation;
  • Standard, type A2 scope (flexible), for which the laboratory, accredited on standardised methods, may, without prior evaluation, implement any successive revisions to these standards (provided that the measurement principle remains the same); in this case, accreditation covers the laboratory's ability to review and confirm the standardised methods;
  • Standard, type A3 scope (flexible), for which the laboratory is accredited on a general scope based on the principles of standardised methods; the laboratory is then deemed competent to adopt standardised methods based on technical competencies already demonstrated and may, without prior evaluation, implement any standardised method based on a principle already evaluated;
  • Extended, type B scope (flexible), for which the laboratory is deemed competent to adapt and develop methods within the framework of a general defined scope; the laboratory may, without prior evaluation, implement any method that falls within the framework of the general defined scope.
  • Regarding accreditation of type A3 and B scopes, a detailed scope is combined with the general defined scope. This detailed scope is the exhaustive list at a given time T for the methods actually implemented (and therefore approved) by the laboratory.

This list continues to be the responsibility of the laboratory and is therefore managed by the laboratory itself.

Evaluations are based on the examination of the organisational and technical provisions put in place by laboratories and on the application of these provisions and the competence and ability to cope with each of the measurement techniques included within the limits of the scope. The evaluation methods are adapted to the degree of freedom given to the laboratory.

The type of scope is not shown as such in the scope. It is in its expression that we will find the idea of flexibility. For more information, cf. document LAB REF 08.

The field of Legal Metrology

Legal metrology is used to guarantee, when in service, accurate and safe measurements for certain measuring instruments used for predefined purposes (transactions and application of laws), by defining the requirements that the instruments must satisfy throughout their life cycle.

Inspections are carried out at several stages (design, production, in service) and require the intervention of designated bodies, notified or approved by the public authorities in accordance with criteria stipulated in the regulations.

Cofrac's Laboratories Section is responsible for the accreditation of primitive and/or periodic verification bodies for certain categories of measuring instrument (e.g.: static and dynamic measurement of liquids other than water, automatic and non-automatic weighing instruments, etc.). The list of legal metrology fields is included in the Cofrac document, LAB INF 99.

The accreditation standard applicable is Cofrac document, LAB ML REF 02, which contains the statutory requirements laid down in the decision of 04 July 2008 (standard based on the standard, NF EN ISO/IEC 17020).

Cofrac, le portail de l'accréditation

 
Rechercher un document
FAQ
Accredited EU ETS verifiers according to Regulation (EU) No 600/2012
Organismes accrédités pour le Règlement (UE) No 600/2012

La section Laboratoires

La section Laboratoires

Actualités de la section Laboratoires

Cliquer ici pour consulter les dernières actualités liées à la section Laboratoires.

Cliquer ici pour consulter la documentation liée à la section Laboratoires.

Mission et organisation de la section Laboratoires

La section Laboratoires du Cofrac a pour mission l’accréditation des :

  • laboratoires d’essais et d’étalonnage ;
  • organisateurs de comparaisons interlaboratoires ;
  • organismes procédant à la vérification d’instruments de mesure réglementés.

La section Laboratoires est organisée en 4 pôles de compétence, chacun de ces pôles correspondant à de grands secteurs d'activité : Biologie-Biochimie, Chimie-Environnement, Mécanique-Thermique, et Physique-Electricité.

A ces 4 pôles sont rattachés 5 commissions techniques d’accréditation (CTA) : Biologie - Agro-Alimentaire, Chimie-Environnement, Mécanique – Thermique, Bâtiment – Génie Civil, et Electricité – Rayonnements – Technologies de l’information.

Accréditation des laboratoires d’essais et d’étalonnage

L’accréditation atteste de la compétence technique des laboratoires d’essais et d’étalonnage pour effectuer des tâches spécifiques.

En matière d'essai, l'accréditation apporte la garantie que les résultats sont obtenus selon des méthodes validées et des procédures conformes à des référentiels précis. Elle peut concerner des laboratoires procédant à l’analyse d’agents chimiques dans l’eau ou dans l’air, à la détermination de profils nutritionnels et la recherche de contaminants dans les denrées alimentaires, à des mesures de champs électromagnétiques in situ, à des essais mécaniques sur des matériaux métalliques, etc ...

En matière d'étalonnage, l'accréditation reconnaît l'aptitude d'un laboratoire à effectuer des étalonnages ou des vérifications métrologiques dans un domaine défini et avec des incertitudes spécifiées. La marque Cofrac sur le certificat d'étalonnage garantit la traçabilité des mesures au Système international d’unités (SI).

Le document Cofrac LAB INF 99 présente les principaux domaines des essais et étalonnages ouverts à l’accréditation par la section Laboratoires (liste non exhaustive).

Portée d'accréditation

L’accréditation des laboratoires se fait selon un périmètre bien défini, appelé portée ou annexe technique qui est l’énoncé formel et précis des activités pour lesquelles le laboratoire est accrédité.

Il existe plusieurs types de portées d’accréditation, de flexibilité croissante, adaptés aux besoins des laboratoires :

  • Portée standard de type A1 (fixe), pour laquelle le laboratoire ne peut apporter aucune modification dans sa portée sans évaluation préalable,
  • Portée standard de type A2 (flexible), pour laquelle le laboratoire, accrédité sur des méthodes normalisées, peut mettre en œuvre sans évaluation préalable toute révision successive de ces normes (à condition que le principe de mesure reste le même) ; l’accréditation porte dans ce cas sur la capacité du laboratoire à revoir et confirmer les méthodes normalisées ,
  • Portée standard de type A3 (flexible), pour laquelle le laboratoire est accrédité sur une portée générale s’appuyant sur des principes de méthodes normalisées ; le laboratoire est alors reconnu compétent pour adopter des méthodes normalisées reposant sur des compétences techniques déjà démontrées et pourra sans évaluation préalable mettre en œuvre toute méthode normalisée basée sur un principe déjà évalué,
  • Portée étendue de type B (flexible), pour laquelle le laboratoire est reconnu compétent pour adapter et développer des méthodes dans le cadre d’une portée générale définie ; le laboratoire pourra sans évaluation préalable mettre en œuvre toute méthode entrant dans le cadre de la portée générale définie.

Concernant l’accréditation des portées de type A3 et B, une portée détaillée est associée à la portée générale définie. Cette portée détaillée est la liste exhaustive à un instant t des méthodes effectivement mises en œuvre (et donc validées) par le laboratoire.

Cette liste reste sous la responsabilité du laboratoire et est par conséquent gérée par lui-même.

Les évaluations sont basées sur l’examen des dispositions organisationnelles et techniques mises en place par les laboratoires et sur l’application de ces dispositions, ainsi que sur la compétence et la capacité à manipuler chacune des techniques de mesure incluses dans les limites de la portée. Les modalités d’évaluation sont adaptées au degré de liberté accordé au laboratoire.

Le type de portée n’apparaît pas en tant que tel dans la portée. C’est dans son expression que l’on va retrouver la notion de flexibilité. Pour plus d’information, cf. le document LAB REF 08.

Le domaine de la Métrologie Légale

La métrologie légale permet d’assurer, en service, des mesures justes et sûres pour certains instruments de mesures utilisés dans des usages définis (transactions et applications de lois), en définissant des exigences que les instruments doivent satisfaire tout au long de leur vie.

Le contrôle s’exerce à plusieurs stades (conception, production, en service) et font intervenir des organismes désignés, notifiés ou agrées par les pouvoirs publics selon des critères spécifiés dans la réglementation.

La section laboratoires du Cofrac a en charge l’accréditation des organismes de vérifications primitives et/ou périodiques, pour certaines catégories d’instruments de mesures (ex : mesurage statique et dynamique des liquides autres que l’eau, instruments de pesage à fonctionnement automatique et non automatique, ...). La liste des domaines de métrologie légale est incluse dans le document Cofrac LAB INF 99.

Le référentiel d’accréditation applicable est le document Cofrac LAB ML REF 02, contenant les exigences réglementaires définies dans la décision du 04 juillet 2008 (référentiel basé sur la norme NF EN ISO/CEI 17020).